And the Winner is…….

First, I apologize for the length of time that it has taken me to post the winner of the “Favorite Back to School Activities” post.  Five people submitted their ideas, and they were all so good that I had to go beyond our panel of 3 and add two more music teachers, Mrs. Carol Dzurenda and Mrs. Elizabeth Weinlein.  Of the 3 original panel, (me, Melanie Hazelrigg and Stephen Rivera), each of us chose a different idea….so I needed to add a tiebreaker.

The winner is……(drum roll),

Stephanie!

Here was the lesson that she posted:
After quick rules…I do much more the following classes. We play a getting to know you game.
K- If they aren’t all crying. ;) Hicketty Ticketty Bumblebee. Throw a ball or a bean bag across in a circle. 1st/2nd- Who Stole the Cookie from the Cookie Jar?
3rd/4th- Black Socks (I don’t know this person in this video. But this is the tune (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RC6C1KXIunQ&playnext=1&list=PLDFDD907D35D05ADC&feature=results_video only I sing it much higher in my head voice- rant for another day…) I play it kind of like musical chairs. I put a tape square on the floor (in a circle) for all but one student. “it” stands in the middle. 1. Sing Song 2. “It” tells something they like (ex. a food, a sport, song etc) Everyone who likes that thing switches spots. (Fun chaos!) The person who doesn’t find a tape is “it”. 3. Do it all again. Kids love it and want to play EVERY class….

I got Hickety Pickety Bumblebee out of 150 American Folk Songs (Boosey & Hawks) but just found this via google. (no melody though.).
http://www.sharronkrull.com/activities/act_hicketypickety.pdf :)

I will be sending Stephanie a brand new copy of “From Sea to Shining Sea; a Treasury of American Folklore and Folk Songs”.

We got so many great ideas from this little contest that I’m going to do it again!  I still have some of my unused retirement books to give as a small prize, and we all win by sharing lessons and activities.    All of the activities that were posted can be found at  https://tuesdaymusic.wordpress.com/2012/08/05/whats-your-favorite-back-to-school-activity/    Just scroll down to the comments boxes.

  Thank you to all who took the time to post.  I look forward to hearing from you again!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Judy
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 20:01:56

    It’s been awhile since you posted, Jane. Is everything ok? I hope you’re enjoying retirement. Thanks again for posting all these lessons. They’re a great resource for me!

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Sep 16, 2012 @ 20:23:10

    Hi Judy,
    Thank you so much for checking in on me. I’m finding retirement to be every bit as busy as teaching so far. Everything is alright, but I’ve been doing a lot of running around and am finding myself quite tired! Posting is high in my priority list, so hopefully I’ll be back to it next week.

    I can’t tell you how much I appreciate your checkingi in on me….SO thoughtful! Thanks! :0)

    Jane

    Reply

  3. Stephanie
    Sep 26, 2012 @ 20:43:07

    Sorry I couldn’t find your personal email on your blog and I apologize for taking so long to thank you (in the throws of starting school). I just wanted to thank you for the book!!! WOW! It was a LARGE book with SO much great information. I love history on songs and telling the kids what songs are about. That book was HUGE! Thanks again. I’m so grateful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

