The Week in a Nutshell: Friday, Sept. 2, 2011

The first week of school is a done deal. In spite of Hurricane Irene, power outages around the district and in other areas as well, school opened on time on Monday morning.

Most of my days went according to plan, but I did run short on time, so that some things will have to be put off until next week.

Every class got their folders, reviewed the rules with Mini Me, and sang. Again, thanks to Kristin Lukow for the “Queen of the Music Room” idea….the kids got a bang out of it.

Mini Me animation

The Cars2 theme was a big hit, as was my Mini Me animation. The kids love “School is Back in Session Now” by John Riggio in this year’s first issue of Music K-8 magazine.

Some of the intermediate classes got to view the “You Can Shine” commercial by Pantene, but even those who got to see it didn’t have much time to discuss it. BUT….my kid blogging project was approved, so responding to that video will be their first writing assignment. It won’t be mandatory, but seeing which kids respond to it will be revealing. The parent letters and permission slips are ready to go home next week, and I will present the concept to 5th grade as part of their lesson. As soon as I ‘ve thought that presentation through, I’ll post it, along with the parent letter and permission slip.

You Can Shine

The primaries listened quietly to “Air for the G String” by J. S. Bach, along with a technique for remembering his name. ( You sound like a chicken if you say it twice.). I’m preparing an animation on Goanimate4schools featuring Mr. Bach sitting in on our music class. I plan for him to break a few rules while giving facts about himself. Eventually, he’ll wind up in the Principal’s office, heheheh. I’ll post the link when it’s ready.

For next week: I’ll start the first music literacy lessons in grades 1,2 3 and 4.

Grade 1

Grade 2

Grade 3

I taught them the first 2 warm-ups last week, so this coming week I’ll go on to all of the “Proper cup of coffee in a copper coffee cup” variations.
MemoVariation 1:

MemoVariation 2:

MemoVariation 3:

Grade 4

Grades 1 and 2 will read/ hear/ sing “Pete the Cat: Rockin’ in my School Shoes.”. We weren’t able to get to that this week.

Intermediates will learn “One Nation” from Music K-8 in preparation for 9/11. Our district is very low-key about this anniversary, particularly at the elementary level. Although we have permission to present it in some way, every year we are made aware that most of our kids don’t remember what happened that day, that it was a frightening thing, and that there are some parents who do not want it addressed with their children. I’m torn, especially on this 10 th anniversary, so I’ve decided to teach the kids “One Nation”, as opposed to “American Tears”, which I love and taught on the first 9/11 anniversary. I’ll make a few general comments about why we’re singing the song once we’ve learned it, and then follow the kids’ lead, discussion wise.

OK…I’m headin’ for the beach. Comments, questions, ideas are all welcome!! Have a great weekend!

:0)

Jane

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jean M. Shields
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 10:46:07

    Jane, is Pete the Cat a regular book?

    Reply

  2. Jane Rivera
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 10:59:18

    Hi Jean, yes, I got mine on Amazon. It comes with a URL for downloading the song. My kids LOVE it!

    Reply

  3. Pamela DePietro
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 12:31:07

    I am excited to see you Bach videos. My son made me two segments so far on Bach, our composer of the month for Sept. Bach is actually the SS teacher in disguise, which is the little funny joke in them. I do not know how to post them though. I hope my go animate rule intro goes well like yours

    Pam from PA

    Reply

  4. Jane Rivera
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 12:47:56

    Hi Pam,

    All I did to post them was copy the URL and paste it into an email or a blog page.
    If you’d send me the URLs to your Bach videos I’d love to see them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

