Intellectual Property Rights

Dear Friends,

A few moments ago I received a notification that my school district has developed an intellectual property rights policy, indicating that anything which was developed while I am an employee of the district belongs to them, and may not be disseminated without permission from the superintendent. Everything that has been published on this blog thus far was done so prior to the development or publication of this policy, however, I will not be posting further until I have procured permission from my superintendent. I would ask you to maintain your subscriptions for a reasonable period of time, so that I may pursue approval of my request to continue blogging my lesson plans in the spirit of collaboration.

Thanks so much for reading Tuesday Music! The blog will remain online, and I hope to be posting again shortly.

:0)

Jane

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. CaraC
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 17:27:55

    Ummmm…..that is unacceptable!!! I know you really don’t have any control but that just is wrong. The district does not own my mind and creativity. Just saying….

    Good luck to you!

    Cara

    http://miscellaneousme.wordpress.com

    Reply

  2. Ann W.
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 17:47:25

    I thought we were past the days of the duke or prince or whomever owning all the music Bach and Haydn wrote while working for them…

    That’s just my initial reaction, I don’t know the entire circumstances and there may be an entirely reasonable reason for the district to do that, but I can’t imagine what that would be. I would love to know more details about what is going on here. I don’t see how they can require you to get permission to share your own ideas and lesson plans that you developed on your own and probably write a lot of on your own time…

    Please keep us posted!

    Reply

  3. Kristin Lukow
    Aug 11, 2011 @ 21:21:38

    This causes me great concern. Hmmm…..

    Reply

  4. Nikki Febinger
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 00:21:26

    Oh, my — that almost makes it sound servile, as if your brain belongs to them because they pay you to do a job. If an electrical engineer comes up with a new type of generator on his own time, then does that generator belong to the organization that employs him? NOT okay… Is this seriously legal?

    Reply

  5. Brandt Schneider (@brandtschneider)
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 12:58:40

    Lesson plans are certainly work product. The district hires you to make lesson plans. So I am pretty sure they “own” them. I am not sure, however, if they can control you writing about them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

