Grade 1, Music Literacy Lesson #2.

Time to get started on a new lesson, I guess.  This is the second music literacy lesson for K/1.  They can be found in order in the category “Kindergarten/Grade 1.

The second time I see  my first graders, we’ll review the first warm up that we learned, then tackle a new one.  It’s pretty easy..you just sing what it says:

“do mi sol mi do.”  Begin in C Major, and go up by half steps until you get to B flat Major, then come back down again.

Listen: Memo

Following the warm ups we will review the term “phrase”, as well as the 3 short songs that we used to begin to understand its meaning.  (Please refer to  https://tuesdaymusic.wordpress.com/2011/07/12/music-literacy-lesson-1-grade-1/)

To continue learning about “phrase”, we make a circle to sing “The Bear Went Over the Mountain.”  We move the circle around, but each time we finish a phrase, we change directions.

“The bear went over the mountain” – switch

“The bear went over the mountain” – switch

“The bear went over the mountain to see what he could see” – stop

Everyone gets down on their knees, and props their chin up with their right hand, elbow on the floor.

“And all that he could see” – switch hands

“And all that he could see” – stand up and join hands, move circle while singing the next phrase:

“Was the other side of the mountain” – switch

“The other side of the mountain” – switch

“The other side of the mountain was all that he could see.”

Everyone gets down on their knees, and props their chin up with their right hand, elbow on the floor.

“And all that he could see” – switch hands

“And all that he could see” – switch hands

“And all that he could see” – switch hands

“And all that he could see” – stand up and join hands, move circle while singing the next phrase:

“Was the other side of the mountain” – switch

” The the other side of the mountain” – switch

” The other side of the mountain was all that he could see.-

Everyone gets down on their knees, and props their chin up with their right hand, elbow on the floor.

“And all that he could see” – switch hands

“And all that he could see” – switch hands

“And all that he could see” – switch hands

“And all that he could see” – switch hands

“And all that he could see” – switch hands

“And all that he could see” –

stand up and join hands, move circle while singing the next phrase:

“Was the other side of the mountain” – switch

” The the other side of the mountain” – switch

” The other side of the mountain was all that he could see.

It takes a little while for these young ones to learn, not just when to switch directions, but HOW to switch directions.  By the time you’ve finished it though, they should be getting the idea.

While we will continue to reinforce their understanding of “phrase”,  we can easily begin to incorporate “steady beat.”  I explain that a steady beat never speeds up or slows down…that’s why it’s called “steady.”  I give them some examples of things that keep a steady beat: their heart, windshield wipers, a clock.

Draw 4 sets of straight lines, (doo’s ) on the board.

I    I    I    I

I    I    I    I

I    I    I    I

I    I    I   I

Simply have the students say the word “doo” every time, and only every time you point to one of the lines. Keep the steady beat as you point thorough the lines.  The second time you go through the chart, have them give one clap every time they say “doo.”  The third time, keep pointing, and have them “doo” and clap while you sing “Yankee Doodle.”

“Boys and girls, you are doing this so well, I’d like to see if you can clap the steady beat while YOU sing “Yankee Doodle.”  Keep pointing to each beat as they sing and clap.  it really helps.  After practicing this several times, I bring out my book “Yankee Doodle.”

It’s by the same author as “Michael Finnegan” and, like that book, the entire thing can be sung to the kids.

“Yankee Doodle” by MaryAnn Hoberman and Nadine Bernard Westcott. ISBN 0-316-14551-3.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Week Two Sequence of Lessons….links « Tuesday Music

Leave a Reply

