Friday, May 20; The Week in Review

Hello Friends,

It’s been a tough week.  Wednesday night our vet came to the house because we needed to have our beloved Golden Retriever put down.  Needless to say, I wasn’t fit to come to work on Thursday.  Fortunately, I had begun my Week in Review way back on Monday, so I do have a few things to share with you. I still have some mi-sol-la and mi-re-do activities to share, as well as a few more books that I used this week.  But, I want to get this post up while it’s still Friday, so I promise I’ll work on the stuff that isn’t in this post and get it out  BEFORE next Friday.

Anyway…here are some of the things we did this week……

As the year winds down I’m trying to get the kids to recall some of the things we’ve sung and done all year.  So I had them count off by fours and using those numbers, get into four groups, so that they could help each other recall some of the things we’ve done.  They each needed their music folder, their log book, and their pencil.  I put the words Form, Harmony, Style, Rhythm Pitch and Singing on the board to make categories.

I give them 10 minutes, working in groups and looking through their folders to put the songs and activities we’ve done into the correct categories.  For example, “Sir Duke” goes under singing, but it could also go under Style, since we learned it as an introduction to Jazz  back in February.  There will be no record of some activities in their folders, I remind them, so they need to think back and try to remember all of the things we’ve covered this year.   After 10 minutes we go group by group and put everything they’ve listed on the board, so that everyone can remember as much as possible of the things we sang/did.

Next, I make 3 new categories on the board:  Activities, Songs, and Videos -YouTube or otherwise.  I ask them to put their favorites into those categories, each student working individually.  Funny how nobody put down rhythmic dictation, but oh well.  Here are the top favorites from this year for intermediate students:

Activities: 

Pass the Pumpkin, Dancing, (In particular, the “An Irish Dance” from Musick-8, vol. 7 #4.  Playing Instruments, Chattanooga Choo Choo,  Books: Remarkable Farkle McBride (read by the author with orchestra on the cd “Farkle and Friends”),and Carnival of the Animals, both by John Lithgow, ( see https://tuesdaymusic.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/carnival-of-the-animals/  ) Tell Me a Scary Story by Carl Reiner, ISBN 0-316-83329-0.  (This book comes with a cd, read by the author, but I use it with Bach’s Toccata and Fugue in d minor, both to expose them to the piece and to show them how music adds so much to the atmosphere of a story.  I have a  lot of LED candles that I place around and turn off the lights.  Not for kids under 3rd grade.)  They also enjoyed listening to “Vivaldi’s Ring of Mystery” – one of the Classical Kids cd’s. They also mentioned “Pete the Cat” by Eric Litwin.  ISBN 978-0-06-190622-0.  They all LOVE this book and sing along passages, from kindergarten through 5th grade.

Songs

The Rattlin’ Bog, Puff the Magic Dragon, The Star Spangled Banner, Sir Duke, the Turkey Tango, Responsible, Show Me Some Respect, the Apple Song and Dancin’ on the Rooftop.

Videos

Any of the Animusic videos, (http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=animusic&qpvt=animusic&FORM=VDRE  # Amadeus Clips from Youtube, ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ciFTP_KRy4  , http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ROllcRNrGI4  .  Watch these first to make sure you think they’re appropriate for your students and age groups.)  River Dance (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DXEl1pEOoec  ), Stayin’ Alive (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I_izvAbhExY  I showed it when we did Scarin’ Alive from Musick-8.  You have to wait thorough the advertising the first time.), Stomp Out Loud, and the Magic School Bus in the Haunted Mansion.  (Shown in connection with our Science of Sound unit.) “Africa”  We did a comparison of the Perpetuum Jazzile version and the original Toto version.  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yjbpwlqp5Qw  ,  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BI8al1RYZ-Q&feature=fvsr   .

More to come.  Let me know if you need pictures, links or anything else.  Have a good weekend!

   Jane   :0)

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kayla Malczycki
    May 20, 2011 @ 13:48:22

    Please accept my sincere condolences regarding the loss of your beloved pet.

    This is, indeed, a terrible week. A dear coworker committed suicide last Saturday, complete surprise to us all.

    I just found this site and cannot wait to explore it!

    Reply

  2. Write Every Day
    May 20, 2011 @ 14:45:34

    Oh Kayla, I’m so very sorry. You must all be in shock. My deepest sympathy to you all!

    I’m glad you found the site…I hope you’ll find things you can use!

    Things will get better. It’s just going to take time.

    Jane

    Reply

  3. Jean M.
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 14:26:24

    Hugs re your Golden Retriever…
    Thanks for the ideas! I like the 4 groups/folders review! Since it’s beach ball time I reviewed by writing symbols/words on the ball. The student who catches it explains the symbol under one of his/her hands. FUN! This year I discovered the John Lithgow Carnival! Love it! I then had the children bring in/make a picture of one of the animals and posted our own Carnival in the hallway. I’m always looking to connect literacy and music so thank you for the Scary title with your Bach addition! Jazz On a Saturday Night is a great book! Wishing you a good summer!

    Reply

  4. Write Every Day
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 15:52:37

    Thanks Jean, for some new ideas for me as well! I will look for “Jazz on a Saturday Night”, and also use your idea for creating our own carnival.
    Thanks for the hug too. We miss her….
    :0)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

